The Dominican Republic is located between Puerto Rico and Cuba and occupies the eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola in the Caribbean. The Caribbean Sea is to the south and the Atlantic Ocean is to the north.

Pico Duarte is the highest mountain in the Caribbean at 10,164 feet (3,175 m), Lake Enriquillo, a saltwater lake, is one of the largest lakes in the Dominican Republic, and the lowest point of elevation in the Caribbean. The country has three mountain ranges, and rich and fertile valleys that are major farming areas of the nation.

The country’s capital Santo Domingo is the largest metropolitan area, and is located along the southern coast. Other important cities are Santiago, Puerto Plata, La Romana, La Vega, and San Francisco. The Dominican Republic population is currently 9.2 million inhabitants.

Back to Top ↑