Surfing News & Events

Published on June 7th, 2013 | by dominicanrepublicsurf


Gomez and Olmedo Triumph at Larimar Surfing Championship 2013 Dominican Republic

Ramirez and Olmedo Female Surf winners Larimar Surfing ChampionshipJune 7, 2013 – The Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) and the Tourism Cluster (Cluster Turistico Productivo) of the Province of Barahona hosted the the National Surf Circuit “LARIMAR SURFING CHAMPIONSHIP ” at Los Patos beach in Barahona, May 31-June 1, 2013, with surfers attending from all over the island, representing fifteen different regions of the country.

Los Patos beach is located in the far southeast of the island, characterized by aqua marine waters, and a unique landscape of mountainous hills and white stone beaches. From the early hours each day, surfers began competing in each of its categories, showing dominance in the waves, and the passion they have to practice this sport.

The competition was attended by over 60 surfers from areas including Las Terrenas, Nagua, Rio San Juan, Cabarete, Sosua, Puerto Plata, Boca Chica, Santo Domingo, Nizao, Bani and Barahona. Sr. Nestor Puente, president of FEDOSURF, commented that the competition “elevated surfing and increased awareness of the natural wealth of Barahona, welcoming visitors and supporting the event. We congratulate all who particpated.”

Larimar Surfing Championship 2013 Winners:

Open Surf
1st Place Junior Gómez, Rio San Juan
2nd Place Edwin Felix, Bahoruco
3rd Place Mario Viñas, Santo Domingo
4th Place Alex de la Cruz Encarnación, Las Terrenas

Female Surf
1st Place Natalia Olmedo, Sosua
2nd Place Vanessa Ramirez, Santo Domingo

Junior Surf (Sub 18)
1st Place Cristian Padilla, Las Terrenas
2nd Place Claudio Encarnación, Nizao
3rd Place Alex de la Cruz Encarnacón, Las Terrenas
4th Place Derek Gómez, Rio San Juan

Mini Junior (Sub 16)
1st Place Jeffrey Felix, Nizao,
2nd Place Nicolas de la Cruz, Cabarete
3rd Place Ismael Carrasco, Bahoruco
4th Place Gregory Felix, Bahoruco

Body board Drop Knee
1st Place Martin Pérez, Nagua
2nd Place José Manuel Henriquez, Sosua
3rd Place Pascual Silverio, Sosúa
4th Place Randy Vásquez, Nagua

Body board Prone
1st Place Pascual Silverio, Sosua
2nd Place Martin Pérez, Nagua
3rd Place Randy Vásquez, Nagua
4th Place Dilson de Jesús, Sosua

Jesmarin Puente, FEDOSURF Technical Director, served as key event organizer and Head Judge, overseeing the judging panel which included Eddy de Leon, Luis Taveras, Jörger Ferreiras, Manuel Pineyro, Andrea Vogel and Raul Van Eiken. Wimelson Méndez and Juan Manuel Guerrero provided technical support with the computerized judging system.

The weekend event was organized by the Dominican Surfing Federation and conducted jointly with the Tourism Cluster of Barahona Province, and included two other sporting events; a paragliding competition with more than 20 pilots participating, and a fishing contest for Lionfish, with 10 teams of local divers from Barahona province competing.

Support and sponsorship of the event included Senator Eddy Matthew Vasquez, President of Provincial Council Barahona (CODEPROBA), Daniel Francisco of the Puerto Plata Surfing Association, the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), the Ministry of Tourism (MITUR), the Electricity Generating Company Haina (Ege-Haina), the Dominican Tourism Competitiveness Consortium (CDTC), TURENLACES, Milk Rica, Central Sugar Corporation (CAC), INDUVECA , the city of Patos de Barahona, Water Everest, the South Surfing Association (ASDS), Vuelo Libre Dominicano, the Ministry of Sports (MIDEREC), Hotel Quemaito, the Dominican Olympic Committee (COD), International Surfing Association (ISA) and Pan American Surfing Association (PASA).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑