Surfing News & Events

Published on August 11th, 2012 | by dominicanrepublicsurf


Aloha Pro Mañanero 2012 Winners Gough, De Smet, de la Cruz, Self & Perez in Cabarete

The Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF), and Juan Carlos Torres of Aloha Surf Café in Cabarete, organized the “Aloha Pro Mañanero 2012” August 4-5, at Mañanero Beach, Cabarete. The championship was the 4th event in the National surf circuit for 2012, and the first time a national tournament was held at this beachbreak known for its high performance, tubular waves.

With a surge of 5-7 feet waves, the two-day competition saw the participation of over one hundred athlete surfers from all over the country. Summer tropical storms presented varied conditions from clean, glassy waves, to battling rain, wind and tide, giving a demonstration of courage and passion for the sport by all participants.

The undisputed champion of the Open Surf division was the athlete Leon Gough of Boca Chica, based in Cabarete, who won the trophy of the highest honor. The sub champions were athletes Angel Comprés of Cabarete in second place, Daniel Alvarez of Bavaro in third, and Roberto Martinez of Cabarete in fourth place.

The Open Bodyboard division crowned as champion Martin Perez of Nagua, followed by Pascual Silverio of Sosua in second, Jeferson Reynoso of Nagua in third and Joey Ciolko of Cabarete in fourth.

Regarding the Open Longboard division, René Gough of Boca Chica took the crown of champion with Daniel Alvarez of Bavaro in second, Eduar Papito Santana in third and Angel Compres, in fourth (both of Cabarete respectively).

Moreover, the women staged an outstanding performance, leaving as champion Julie De Smet of Cabarete, followed by sub champions: Carolina Gutierrez of Las Terrenas in second, Alicia Martinet of Cabarete in third and Melina Betances of Bahoruco in fourth.

Showing off a special division of young athletes, the Junior Surfing champion was Nicolas de la Cruz of Cabarete, and conquering the place of sub champions were Cristian Padilla of Las Terrenas in second, Armando Reid of Bavaro in third and Gian Marco Oliva of Cabarete in fourth.

It was the delight of the audience to watch the performance of the Mini Junior Surf division, with Max Self of Cabarete being crowned champion, and establishing themselves as sub champions were Yasper Astacio of Cabarete in second, Killan Reault of Las Terrenas in third, and Tom Maurice of Cabarete in fourth.

All winners were awarded trophies, medals, and cash prizes by FEDOSURF and various sports accessories and other items from the event sponsors. Jesmarin Puente led the event as Technial Director, overseeing the computer judging program, live streaming and serving as head judge.

FEDOSURF would like to thank all of the institutions and companies that made a contribution to the successful completion of this fourth national event of the 2012 season, the “Aloha Pro Mañanero”, including the Dominican Olympic Committee, Ministry of Sports and Recreation, Dominican Air Force, Politur, District Board of Cabarete, Cabarete Medical Center, Stella Blue Films, Supermarket la Rosa, Carib Bic Center, Surfea Surf Shop, Microjet Technologies, Aloha Surf Café, Alka Products, Division 71, DreamBuz Media, Macao Surf Camp, Gough Surfboards and the Association of Surfing in Puerto Plata (ASPP).

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑