Surfing News & Events

Published on May 3rd, 2011 | by dominicanrepublicsurf


Encuentro Surf Challenge, 3rd National Championship of 2011

The ‘Encuentro Surf Challenge 2011’ was held on Saturday, April 30th in the town of Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic. The Surfing tournament was the third event in the National Surf Circuit of the Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF), with participation of upwards of ninety athlete surfers from different regions of the country, who battled hard for victory in the waves of the Atlantic Ocean.The day-long event was held at Encuentro beach, at two different podiums simultaneously, with professional judging for the athletes and challenging waves. Many spectators enjoyed the event, with music and event narration, bbq, ocean breeze and brilliant sunshine.The Open Surfing division champion was won experienced surfer Junior Gómez of Rio San Juan, followed by Antonio ‘Zion’ Sosua Balbuena of Sosua, who was a close second in the finals. In third place was Eduar ‘Papito’ Santana and Roberto Martinez in fourth place, both from Cabarete.Surfing in the Junior Division, Eduar ‘Papito’ Santana of Cabarete won first place, followed Matias Espinoza of Macao in Second. Jobe Amelignier of Sosua was ranked third and Arturo Pereyra of Santo Domingo in fourth place.

Brian Cotou was the champ in Mini Junior Surfing, and second place was won by Kai Roberts, both from Cabarete. Marco Anderes of Las Terrenas was third followed by Braulio Ortiz Brito of Santo Domingo in fourth place

In the Women’s Open, Julie DeSmet of Cabarete took first place, followed by Carolina Gutierrez from Las Terrenas in second. Audry Meyer of Cabarete finished in third place and Nairobi Rosario of Sosua in fourth. Lea Berrú, a young surfer from Cabarete was the Champion in the Female Mini-Junior category.

In the Open Longboard Division, Daniel Alvarez of Macao was crowned champion, followed by Leon Gough of Cabarete, who won second place. Brandon Sanford finished in third place, followed by Rene Gough in fourth, both from Cabarete.

All winners In the Open Bodyboard Division are from the neighboring town of Sosua, with Pascual Silverio in first place, Jose Miguel Henriquez in second, Ángel Miguel Mejía in third and Neo Martinez in fourth.

The award ceremony was held following the event at Onnos Bar Cabarete, where medals were given to all divisions and prize money for the majority of finalists, also donated for the winners were two surfboards by “Gough Surfboards”

The closing ceremony was led by tournament directors Ken Gei Fung, Ronald Quevedo and Jesmarin Puente. The high performance level by all competitors was praised and celebrated, and the organizers formally thanked all the people, institutions and businesses that made this event possible, including:

Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) Chino Surf School, Association of Surfing Puerto Plata (ASPP), Kelley & Ping Restaurant, Super Super Surf Liquors, Aloha Surf Café, Dare2fly, Kaiceitos Circus, Gorditos Fresh Mex, Mash café, Yamazato Sushi, Microjet Technologies, Gough Surfboards, MiGym, City Market Sosua, Dream Buz Media, POLITUR, Dominican Air Force, MIDEREC, Dominican Olympic Committee, Pauhana Surf School and Onno’s Bar Cabarete.

FEDOSURF, established in 2002, is the National Governing Body of surfing in the Dominican Republic. FEDOSURF is recognized by the Dominican Olympic Committee (COD), the Ministry of Sports, Physical Education and Recreation (MIDEREC), the International Surfing Association (ISA) and the Pan American Surfing Association (PASA). It is a non-profit entity, whose main goal is to support and advance the sport of surfing and high-performance athletes in the Dominican Republic.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑