Surfing News & Events

Published on February 26th, 2011 | by dominicanrepublicsurf


Playa Grande Surfing Championship Dominican Republic 2011

Balbuena, Santana, Castillo, Gough, Barry and Rosario Champions at Dominican Republic “Playa Grande Surfing Championship Dominican Republic 2011”

The Dominican Republic Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) hosted the second event of the National Circuit, the “Playa Grande Surfing Championship” on February 19 & 20, 2011 in Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic. The competition had a massive turnout of athlete surfers from different regions of the country that displayed a great performance and excellent standards in the various disciplines of the sport.

The Open Division champion surfer was the athlete Antonio “Zion” Balbuena of Sosua. Winning the crown for Second Place was the competitor Robert Flores of Rio San Juan. In third and fourth place, were the surfer brothers Leon and Rene Gough, both from Cabarete.

Surfing in the Junior Division, Eduar ‘Papito’ Santana of Cabarete won First Place, followed secondly by Derek Gomez, a native of Rio San Juan. Alex Encarnacion of Las Terrenas is ranked third and Henry Bonilla of Cabarete in fourth place.

Esteban Castillo was the champ in the Mini Junior category, and winning second place was Brito Braulio Ortiz, both from Boca Chica. Carlos Garcia of Rio San Juan and Chase Hasch of Cabarete were in third and fourth.

In the Women’s surfing, Nairobi Rosario of Sosua took first place, followed by Katie Bowcutt of Cabarete in second, and Cole Hasch of Sosua finished in third place.

In the Open Longboard Division, René Gough of Cabarete took first place, followed by Daniel Alvarez and Marcos Saint Hilaire in second and third, both from Santo Domingo. Eduardo Lara of Cabarete won fourth.

In the Open Bodyboard Division, Carlos Barry of Cabrera led first place, followed by Miguel Angel Mejia of Charamico in second. Martín Pérez of Nagua finished third and Pascual Silverio of Charamico won fourth place.
The winners were presented their awards by Alexandra Jeronimo, Executive of the Playa Grande Foundation, professor Fernando Teruel, MIDEFIR technical director, Nestor Puente, president of FEDOSURF, Nilda Fernandez, general secretary of the ASSD, Ozzy Holguin, delegate of ASPP, and Jesmarin Puente, FEDOSURF technical director of the North Coast.

This event was made possible thanks to the coordination and sponsorship of the Playa Grande Foundation of Rio San Juan, the Dominican Federation of Surfing (FEDOSURF), the Association of Surfing in Puerto Plata (ASPP) and their representatives in the municipality of Rio San Juan, the Ministry of Sports and Recreation (MIDEREC), the Dominican Olympic Committee (COD) and GOUGH Surfboards.

FEDOSURF, established in 2002, is the National Governing Body of surfing in the Dominican Republic. FEDOSURF is recognized by the Dominican Olympic Committee (COD), the Ministry of Sports, Physical Education and Recreation (SEDEFIR), the International Surfing Association (ISA) and the Pan American Surfing Association (PASA). It is a non-profit entity, whose main goal is to support and advance the sport of surfing and high-performance athletes in the Dominican Republic.

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑